Welsh Flag

Welcome to the Welsh Welly Wanging Open

Croeso i'r "Welly Wanging" agored Cymreig

Welsh Flag
divider line
(to navigate the site please use the 'Around the site' button on the left)
FaceBook logo  Twitter logo

The 2012 event

The inaugural Welsh Welly Wanging Championship was held on Saturday 2nd June 2012 at Shirenewton in Monmouthshire on the Shirenewton Recreation Association field in conjunction with Shirenewton Church Fete.

A total of 116 wangers representing 10 countries took part. Wangers included local MP David Davies who has been has been the Member of Parliament for Monmouth since 2005. He briefly featured on the leader board before being out wanged by others.

Baz Nagrani representing India was crowned ‘Master Wanger’ with a wang of 24.90 meters whilst Laura Newton representing Wales was  crowned ‘Mistress Wanger’ with a wang of 14.20 meters.

Other winners were:

Male <16: Jacob Tyson representing England with a wang of 16.10 meters;

Female <16: Clara Zorab representing Wales with a wang of 10.60 meters.

Male <13: Luke Reid representing Wales with a wang of 13.10 meters;

Female <13: Louri Sutherland-Watkins representing Wales with a wang of 12.55 meters.

See the press reports on the event.

Photos of the winners and the David Davies, MP below (click on the thumbnail to open the larger photo). There are additional photos at the Shirenewton fete website. Unfortunately not all competitors were available to collect their prizes.



Master Wanger Bas Nagrani

Master Wanger Bas Nagrani

Mistress Wanger Laura Newton

Mistress Wanger Laura Newton



Bas Nagrani receives his trophy and Countrywide voucher

Master Wanger
Bas Nagrani


Laura Newton receives her trophy and Countrywide voucher


Mistress Wanger
Laura Newton





Wooden Spooner Winner

David Davies, MP





Worst Wanger
Lawrence Schrader receives his
Wooden Spoon


David Davies, MP
at the Welsh Welly Wanging Open




Under 16 winner

Uber 13 winner

Under 13 winner



Jacob Tyson (England)
<16 winner

Luke Reid (Wales)
<13 winner and
< 16 runner-up!

Louri Sutherland-Watkins (Wales)
<13 winner


The inaugural Welsh Welly Wanging Championship was sponsored by 

Countrywide Farmers logo

separator line



Please 'like us' on Facebook and follow us on Twitter: FaceBook logo  Twitter logo

For any enquiries about the event or comments about the website please email: webmaster@wwwopen.info

Dividing line